My Media History

    Do you ever wish you knew everything? A lot of us do, I’m sure of it; well, I know I did, and still do. While we might think of knowing “everything” a bit absurd, with today’s technological genius, knowing everything really isn’t as impossible as it would sound. Everything is now, literally (or should I say practically) at our fingertips. Growing up, I can remember rushing home just in time to watch my favorite cartoons, I can remember during family gatherings, so much focus was on a sports game or the latest episode on some soap (oh how I loathed those soaps). Aside from TV, naturally as a child, I loved video games, and comics… and even loved attempting to sketch my favorite comic book heroes.

    During my childhood, there were few occasions where news related media effected me, that was up until when Hurricane Andrew in 1992, my family and I were taking shelter in a Miami hotel during the whole ordeal, I remember being scared and wanted to know of the who, and the what? the why? where? I wanted information, I needed to know, everything (to feel safe I guess).

    The forms of media comes in many shapes and forms, from physically written/printed form of course (books, newspapers, banners, etc.) and than we have electronic data that is readily available on screen (via TV, computer, mobile devices), and audible through some form of speaker that expels an electronic signal transfer that we interact with. I wasn’t a big reader, though I did read (parent enforced). But, I was a huge listener, from stories to music and poetry, I loved media in audio form. I can remember the first cassette I ever owned was Michael Jackson’s “Heal The World,” and no, I’m not ashamed to the admittance of this.

    Later in life, I can remember when the computer, or more specifically I should say, the “home” computer (the pc) became more prominent in the households of my friends and family. I was in the 3rd grade it was 1993, and I must have been the last one of my friends to own a PC. When finally in my possession,  I knew nothing of the word “sleep,” It was the PC, me, and my good friend Maxis (my favorite game developers). I loved “Sim City.” The thought of building my own little perfect world and overseeing its importance and value must have tickled my liking in astronomic levels, because I owned practically every extension of the game.

    I’m guessing that’s where my love of design and media first began. I now honestly, cannot even bare the thought of not having the technology readily available for my media viewing and creativity driven state of mind. I’m excited knowing that there are future technologies that await my discovery that will continue to help feed my need to know everything, or at least the things that I want to know in a matter of a short press of a button or a few spoken words into a device with voice recognition. How cool is the device that opens our eyes to new possibilities and new life, things that we could never tangibly experience? (very cool).

Leave a Reply

