The Shiny Gold Box

…also known as “The Stickiness Factor.”

After the completion of this chapter, I wouldn’t say that I see television in a so much of a different manor as it just certainly brought to light things that I wouldn’t have noticed or contemplate over normally, for the most part. Most of which this chapter was really referring to the “tipping” of knowledge through television and media, especially shows geared for a younger generation, Sesame Street, and Blues Clues were of the top mentions.

The idea is that information needs to be like a “hook” in order to be interesting, compiled in a form that catches our attention, and furthermore, that hook has to be baited with something tasty. This way, you inevitably want more and stay attentive to the information that you are receiving. Not only will you be more attentive, but studies suggest and have proved that you will retain the information over an extended period of time.

When Sesame Street was introduced in the 60’s, it quickly presented promise in creating an actual “learning environment”  in what many had thought to be impossible. Many spectated that television, while being just a “talking box” was not a probable medium for teaching, teaching was thought to be at it’s optimal form while some basis of interaction is involved… for which the television was not very interactive… yet. The inner workings of a child’s mind is unsurprisingly different than an adults. The maker’s of Sesame Street saw this a “light bulb” moment and noticed how the current programing wasn’t sensitive to this fact.

While the main focus was to bring an affordable and “sticking” learning environment to children of lower class families who are less privileged to be in pre-school or to be provided a well rounded learning environment, with parents that are supportive of such an idea. Sesame Street was a huge success. I myself can remember watching Sesame Street, learning, and loving it. I loved Oscar, maybe that’s why I can be such a grouch sometimes. When the maker’s of Blues Clues came along, they built their show upon Sesame Street’s structure, but simply revamped it, and improved the interactive quality, making it even more “learner” friendly, and of course added more understanding and sensitivity to the viewers interests.

OK, I’ll admit it, I’ve watched Blue’s Clues… but only because my little brother had full control of the remote; (umm) I swear. No, I don’t know who Magenta is! …and don’t think HE’S broke-back, he’s probably Blue’s boy toy or something rather, who knows.

4 thoughts on “The Shiny Gold Box

  1. WOOOOORD~! I agree, brother! I grew up watching sesame street & pee-wee’s playhouse when Morpheus was Cowboy Curtis~!(Even Phil Hartman was on that show! Bless his soul!) But the hook got me in and I was instantly ‘hooked’ into what I was watching and I learned too!
    The ‘hooking’ manner is even true with the books we are currently reading~ I mean I originally thought “Here Comes Everybody” was going to be bad, but the examples Shirky uses got me ‘hooked’ and learning! Although I’m being a ‘smart-ass’ by going against what he says it’s still a good read~

Leave a Reply

