Engaging Deviancy

I remember my mother yelling at me for using foul language around my brother when he was younger, “stop using such language around your brother! I don’t want him to speak this way, it’s not nice” my mother would say, to which I’d reply “but dad says it!” Which was true, sadly I did learn this “improper” language from my father.

In this chapter “bad language” was the least of learned behavior to be frowned upon. In the islands of Micronesia there was an overwhelmingly large number of suicides being documented and on a large scale increasing dramatically in a short period of time. The act of committing suicide had tipped. Those that accounted for most of the tipping were young boys that weren’t suicidal by any noticeable means and had some form of negative confrontation with a family member, I thought this to be somewhat peculiar. However when I took a moment to realize the setting that these individuals were in I began to understand.

If I’d had an altercation with my mother or father, I’d shrug it off and bury myself in a video game or listen to some extremely loud obnoxious music to help me forget, I had a coping system. These individuals were actually committing what most if us would think of as the unthinkable, suicide. I believe it was for the simple fact there was no outlet or coping system available. Family in that western culture was and is everything, having the respect of your parent or elders is a golden and vital part of who you are and where you stand in society.

When this respect has been lost (from a lover as well, or even a friend), it’s damaging on a large scale. So much so that some just want to escape, and relieve themselves of such displeasure indefinitely… Sadly, through media and other forms of communication, suicide has a persuasive whisper to those susceptible to it’s promise of no more pain. And thus they blindly commit the act, blind because in reality, these people are undeniably foolish and completely misguided.

Leave a Reply

